The Oak Ridge Boys

Reunion Arena (Dallas, TX)

Jul 21, 1983

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 One In A Million 05:12
  2. 2 Sail Away / Cryin' Again / Come On In 05:05
  3. 3 Dig A Little Deeper In The Well 02:27
  4. 4 Dream On 03:30
  5. 5 I Wish You Could Have Turned My Head 02:30
  6. 6 Heart On The Line (Operator, Operator) 04:31
  7. 7 Fancy Free 03:28
  8. 8 Until You 03:00
  9. 9 Dancing The Night Away 05:09
  10. 10 You're The One 04:53
  11. 11 Leaving Louisiana In The Broad Daylight 03:00
  12. 12 Would They Love Him Down In Shreveport? 02:24
  13. 13 Love Song 04:04
  14. 14 Amity 03:56
  15. 15 Thank God For Kids 03:33
  16. 16 You Made It Beautiful 03:52
  17. 17 American Made 02:28
  18. 18 American Made Reprise 01:30
  19. 19 Elvira 03:20
  20. 20 Bobbie Sue 04:56
More The Oak Ridge Boys

Duane Allen - baritone vocals
Joe Bonsall - tenor vocals
William Lee Golden - baritone vocals
Richard Sterban - bass vocals
Skip Mitchell - lead guitar
Steve Sanders - rhythm guitar, vocals
Mark O'Hunt - guitar
Fred Satterfield - drums
Don Greeland - bass
Dewey Duro - sax, harmonica
Ron Fairchild - keyboards

The Oak Ridge Boys, like their contemporary Lee Greenwood, had become the epitome of wholesome country music when this show was recorded for the Silver Eagle Cross Country Radio Show. When this band plays their hit, "American Made," they mean it. The play on patriotism that many country singers weighed in on after 911, The Oak Ridge Boys never stopped singing about. As Midwestern icons and among the biggest country acts of the '70s and '80s, the Oaks have become the American musical equivalent of baseball and apple pie.

All the great four-part harmonies are here, as well as most of their hit songs, among them "Dig A Little Deeper In The Well," "You're The One," "Ozark Mountain Jubilee," "Bobbie Sue," and of course, "Elvira," which they close the show with. At times the band appears to lay on the Vegas schmaltz a little heavy, but that is understandable when one realizes they have an audience that ranges from age 9 to 90.

The group actually dates back to 1942 in Knoxville, Tennessee, where they began as a gospel group led by Wally Fowler called the Oak Ridge Quartet. Fowler kept the group going amid several personnel changes as one of the most popular country-gospel acts in the south through 1956, when he retired. In 1956, he sold the name to then-group member, Smitty Gatlin, who changed the moniker to The Oak Ridge Boys in 1961. When Gatlin became a minister in 1964 he handed over the reigns to the other members, which at that point included William Lee Golden and Duane Allen. Golden and Allen gradually rebuilt the group to its current line up, which has been together since the early 1970s.