The Motels

Bayou (Washington, DC)

Nov 15, 1979

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Route 66 00:13
  2. 2 Instrumental 01:49
  3. 3 Boys 03:49
  4. 4 Atomic Cafe 02:54
  5. 5 Toujours Gaie 02:49
  6. 6 Closets And Bullets 05:00
  7. 7 Porn Reggae 04:12
  8. 8 Celia 03:25
  9. 9 Total Control 05:40
  10. 10 Dalmation 05:57
  11. 11 Anticipating 03:51
  12. 12 Kix 02:10
  13. 13 Dressing Up 04:46
  14. 14 People, Places And Things 04:03
  15. 15 The Big Hurt 03:50
More The Motels

Martha Davis - vocals
Jeff Jourard - guitar
Marty Jourard - keyboards, sax
Michael Goodroe - bass
Brian Glascock - drums

The Motels held court in the red-hot LA club scene of the late 1970s and early 1980s, where bands like the Go Gos, Mötley Crüe, and The Red Hot Chili Peppers were also emerging and developing. They were fronted by singer Martha Davis, a charismatic performer who kept the band extremely radio friendly but with just enough edginess to maintain its street cred.

This show was recorded in 1979 on the band's first national U.S. tour, when they were promoting their first Capitol release, simply entitled, The Motels. The band actually had begun in 1972, when Davis was still living in Berkeley, California. Originally called the Warfield Foxes, Davis moved the band to L.A. in 1974 and changed their name to The Motels. The original line-up included Dean Chamberlain on guitar and Richard D'Andrea on bass, and employed various drummers and keyboard players.

The band found the club scene thriving in Los Angeles, and within a year, labels started courting them. Before a deal could be secured, however, the band dissolved in 1976. A year later, however, Davis returned with an all new line-up, and within two years the band had a deal with Capitol Records.

Released in 1979, the first album, The Motels, scored a minor hit with "Total Control," a power-ballad built with a new-wave edge. The band did two more albums for Capitol, but it would be in 1982, with the release of All Four One that the band would find their commercial and MTV breakthrough with the stunning pop hit, "Only The Lonely." That song and the follow up hit, "Suddenly Last Summer" would both reach the Top 10, and ultimately provided years of touring income for the band.

In 1987, Davis broke up the band to do a solo project, entitled Policy. As soon as she finished the album, however, she was diagnosed with cancer. The health issues put her career on hold for nearly two years, while she successfully battled the illness. In 1998, she returned with an all-new version of the band, and has continued to tour as "The Motels featuring Martha Davis." The last studio album was released in 2007 and is called Clean, Modern and Reasonable. Highlights of this show, recorded at the Washington Coliseum in D.C., include "Boys," "Atomic Cafe," "Lovers Under Covers", "Total Control" and the show closer, "The Big Hurt" which they close their set with.