The Beach Boys

Nassau Coliseum (Uniondale, NY)

May 14, 1979

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Introduction 00:41
  2. 2 California Girls 02:20
  3. 3 Sloop John B 03:04
  4. 4 Darlin' 02:36
  5. 5 Interlude 00:48
  6. 6 Shortenin' Bread 02:18
  7. 7 Do It Again 02:50
  8. 8 Little Deuce Coupe 01:51
  9. 9 Interlude 00:39
  10. 10 Roller Skating Child 01:59
  11. 11 Interlude 00:43
  12. 12 Peggy Sue 02:08
  13. 13 Interlude 00:22
  14. 14 In My Room 02:33
  15. 15 God Only Knows 02:54
  16. 16 You Are So Beautiful 02:32
  17. 17 Interlude 00:45
  18. 18 Good Vibrations 05:15
  19. 19 Barbara Ann 02:51
  20. 20 Fun, Fun, Fun 03:48
  21. 21 God Only Knows (Alt. Mix) 02:58
More The Beach Boys

Mike Love - lead vocals
Brian Wilson - keyboards, bass, vocals
Carl Wilson - lead guitar, vocals
Dennis Wilson - drums, vocals
Al Jardine - rhythm guitar, vocals
Bruce Johnston - keyboards, bass, vocals
Bobby Figueroa - drums
Mike Meros - organ, synth

Recorded on the tour that returned Beach Boys legend Brian Wilson to the performing stage, the group's 1979 tour was the last to feature all five of the original members: Brian, Dennis and Carl Wilson, Mike Love and Al Jardine. It also combined the talents of Brian Wilson and Bruce Johnston, who was brought in to replace Brian on the road when he suffered a nervous breakdown in 1964.

Brian Wilson was still recovering with his well publicized mental health issues by way of Dr. Eugene Landry, the controversial psychiatrist hired to help. Landry had allowed Wilson to re-join his brothers and other Beach Boy members on this tour, although his involvement was minimal, singing only a couple of songs in the entire set.

Still, this recording is important for any fan of The Beach Boys because it does show the magic the five core members still possessed on the stage. All the big "surf-era" hits are here: "California Girls," "Sloop John B," "Barabara Ann," "Fun Fun Fun," "In My Room" and "Little Deuce Coupe" which clocks in at a swift 1:51. The best material from the Pet Sounds-era is also represented with "Good Vibrations," "Darlin'," "Do It Again," and the brilliant, "God Only Knows." The also perform some unexpected covers including Buddy Holly's "Peggy Sue," Billy Preston's "You Are So Beautiful," (also a hit for Joe Cocker) and the southern children's rhyme, "Shortenin' Bread."

Recorded at Long Island's Nassau Coliseum, the concert is a good example of where The Beach Boys were artistically just before becoming more of a nostalgia act in the 1980s.