Ted Nugent

Hammersmith Odeon (London, England)

May 9, 1979

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Stormtroopin' 05:42
  2. 2 Just What The Doctor Ordered 05:10
  3. 3 Cat Scratch Fever 04:14
  4. 4 Carol 03:59
  5. 5 It Don't Matter 05:07
  6. 6 Stranglehold 13:15
  7. 7 Dog Eat Dog 05:16
  8. 8 Need You Bad 11:33
  9. 9 One Woman 07:48
More Ted Nugent

Ted Nugent - guitar, vocals
Cliff Davies - drums, vocals
Charlie Huhn - guitar, vocals
Dave Kiswiney - bass

It was 1979 and Ted Nugent had already dropped the tag "& The Amboy Dukes" from his billing, ending his association with the '60s psychedelic pop band that he spearheaded in Detroit. The Amboy Dukes had one Top 40 hit, the timely "Journey To The Center Of The Mind," an obvious anthem to mind-altering drugs, which is ironic given Nugent's stature today as a spokesman for the far political right.

Nugent had built a small but fiercely hard rock cult following with a series of guitar-oriented LPs, both with his final version of the Dukes and his initial solo records. It was not until he released a double album, (following the success of Frampton Comes Alive) that he started getting widespread airplay on FM radio stations.

His comical rocker, "Wango Tango," further increased his popularity with an audience that now included metal fans of bands like Black Sabbath and the guitar-hero followers of the Allman Brothers and Lynyrd Skynyrd.

This show was captured during Nugent's commercial peak as a solo artist. He would see platinum success again one more time as a member of the suergroup, Damn Yankees. Included here are such Nugent tracks as "Just What The Doctor Ordered," "Cat Scratch Fever," and "It Don't Matter." The core of the show is built around a strong 13-minute version of his rock anthem, "Stranglehold" anchored by its hypnotic bass line.

Nugent continues to record and tour but has made his biggest impact lately as an advocate of hunting and as a right wing political talk show host.