Steve Miller

Winterland (San Francisco, CA)

Mar 17, 1973

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Kow Kow Calqulator 03:43
  2. 2 Going To The Country 02:09
  3. 3 The Sun Is Going Down 01:41
  4. 4 Come On In My Kitchen 01:44
  5. 5 Brave New World 01:11
  6. 6 Motherless Children 02:40
  7. 7 I Love You 02:24
  8. 8 Welcome 04:28
  9. 9 My Dark Hour 04:22
  10. 10 Jackson-Kent Blues 04:47
  11. 11 Living In The U.S.A. 06:55
  12. 12 Space Cowboy 03:30
  13. 13 Blues Without Blame 04:45
  14. 14 The Gangster Is Back 01:40
  15. 15 Sugar Baby 02:01
  16. 16 Crossroads 01:59
  17. 17 Evil 05:46
  18. 18 Shu Ba Da Du Ma Ma Ma Ma 05:53
  19. 19 Going To Mexico 02:47
  20. 20 Seasons 02:08
More Steve Miller

Steve Miller - lead vocals, guitars, harmonica
Gerald Johnson - bass
John King - drums
Dickie Thompson - keyboards

This historic Bay Area concert captures the Steve Miller band eight months before the release and just prior to the recording of their commercial breakthrough album, The Joker. Several of the songs from this show ended up on the album, including "Sugar Baby," "Evil," the Robert Johnson blues standard "Come On In My Kitchen and the nonsensical, "Shu Ba Da Du Ma Ma Ma Ma." The performance certainly offers a telling peek of things to come.

With the exception of those that made it to The Joker album, all of the songs from this show can be found on the first seven Steve Miller Band albums. The first seven tracks are performed entirely by Miller, solo on a 12-string acoustic guitar. He then brings out the rest of the band, consisting of Gerald Johnson on bass, Dickie Thompson on keyboards and John King on drums.

Wits the band on stage, things kick into high gear, beginning with a pulsating version of the Miller radio classic "Living In The U.S.A." From there, they kick into a rocking take on "Space Cowboy," perhaps the strongest track of the show. Unfortunately, however, the recording suffers from an uneven mix, and Dickie Thompson's Hammond B3 often overshadows Miller's live vocals.

Still, this is a brilliant performance of a great band captured in their prime. Other highlights include a rocking version of "Gangster of Love;" Miller's version of the traditional Gospel Negro spiritual, "Motherless Children;" a Cream-inspired version of "Crossroads" (incomplete here); and "My Dark Hour," which would be rewritten some years later as "Fly Like An Eagle."

Also of note is the tune "Evil," which sounds like the guitar riff was lifted exactly from the 1967 Blood Sweat and Tears classic "I'll Love You More Than You'll Ever Know." Influences aside, the Steve Miller Band remains one of the most formidable rock 'n' roll groups of their era - a fact to which both this recording and countless future hits would bear testament.