Roxy Music

Tower Theater (Philadelphia, PA)

Mar 30, 1979

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Introduction 00:30
  2. 2 Manifesto 05:28
  3. 3 Trash 02:44
  4. 4 A Song For Europe 06:33
  5. 5 Still Falls The Rain 04:41
  6. 6 Mother Of Pearl 06:43
  7. 7 Ain't That So 06:15
  8. 8 Out Of The Blue 05:17
  9. 9 Stronger Through The Years / Ladytron 13:21
  10. 10 In Every Dream Home A Heartache 08:14
  11. 11 Casanova 04:31
  12. 12 Love Is The Drug 04:01
  13. 13 Editions Of You 03:55
  14. 14 Re-Make/Re-Model 04:13
  15. 15 Do The Strand 04:33
More Roxy Music

Bryan Ferry - lead vocals, keyboards
Andy MacKay - saxophone, woodwinds
Phil Manzanera - guitars, vocals
Gary Tibbs - bass
Paul Carrack - keyboards, vocals
Paul Thompson - drums

Roxy Music's 1979 album, Manifesto, along with its corresponding tour, from which this show was recorded for the King Biscuit Flower Hour, marked a much-anticipated reunion for the group. Although the band had not officially broken up, they had announced an extended hiatus in 1977, so the members (especially Bryan Ferry) could record, tour and pursue solo identities in the music business.

Ferry had cut a successful second solo album and did one of his earliest solo tours with Roxy drummer Paul Thompson; Manzanera formed a guitar-oriented band called 801 with former Roxy keyboardist/soundloop whiz, Brian Eno; bassist John Wetton and violinist Eddie Jobson had formed a progressive rock band called U.K. and Andy MacKay kept busy working recording sessions. The band came roaring back in 1979 with Manifesto, one of their best albums. Featuring a brighter sound and more commercially viable songs, Manifesto kept the band on their toes, especially with the knowledge that Ferry could jump ship at any time to continue pursuing a successful solo career.

By the sound of this show, Ferry and the band took their return to the Roxy legacy as a pretty momentous opportunity, and used it as a springboard to launch the band on new, unexplored artistic trajectories. The new material is strong and the audience lets them know it, but when the band starts diving into their classic Roxy hits and album tracks, it is clear to everyone involved that Roxy never really left.

"Out of The Blue," "Stronger Through The Years/Ladytron" and "In Every Dream Home A Heartache," all help get the audience warmed up for what is really one of the most powerful encores the band had ever delivered. They close with hits "Love Is The Drug," "Editions of You," "Re-Make/Re-Model" and the dance showcase, "Do The Strand." All in all, this is a rocking performance - and proof, moreover, that Roxy Music, even deep in their second round, could still pack a powerful punch.