Rod Stewart

Wembley Arena (London, England)

Dec 5, 1980

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Hot Legs 05:17
  2. 2 Sweet Lil' Rock and Roller 04:32
  3. 3 Tonight's The Night (Gonna Be Alright) 04:04
  4. 4 Wild Side Of Life 05:17
  5. 5 You're In My Heart 04:39
  6. 6 If Lovin' You Is Wrong (I Don't Want To Be Right) 06:28
  7. 7 She Won't Dance With Me 04:27
  8. 8 I Just Want To Make Love To You 04:21
  9. 9 Passion 06:54
  10. 10 Gi' Me Wings 08:48
  11. 11 Maggie May 08:18
  12. 12 Sailing 05:00
  13. 13 I Don't Want To Talk About It 05:37
  14. 14 Da Ya Think I'm Sexy? 07:03
  15. 15 Carol 04:21
  16. 16 You Wear It Well 04:58
  17. 17 I Was Only Joking 06:09
More Rod Stewart

Rod Stewart - harmonica, vocals
Carmine Appice - drums, vocals
Phil Chen - bass, vocals
Jim Cregan - guitar, vocals
Gary Grainger - guitar
Billy Peek - guitar
Kevin Savigar - keyboards
Phil Kenzie - horns
Linda Lewis - backing vocals

From the opening recording of "Hot Legs," Rod Stewart makes it clear that blondes indeed have more fun. At least in his case they do. Stewart was winding up a world tour for his newest LP at the time, entitled Foolish Passion in England. It is the holiday season, and Stewart was back home among his fellow Brits. It's clear that he is happy to be there when listening to this recording, done originally for the King Biscuit Flower Hour in 1980.

Stewart had departed from the Faces three years prior, but this show was very much still in the Faces-sounding tradition, especially on rockers such as Chuck Berry's "Sweet Lil' Rock and Roller," and The Beatles' "Get Back." Since most of the Faces played on the '70s-era Stewart solo albums, it is all a musical blur between his own hits and those of the band. By the time this show was recorded, Stewart was trying to embrace the all-powerful disco movement and still keep his rock credibility. "Do Ya Think I'm Sexy?" was the answer and it was a huge hit when this show was taped. It's part of the set list as are other dance-oriented Rod rockers such as "Hot Legs" and "Wild Side of Life."

Rod is always aware of the female fans who have kept him at the top of the charts, and he is sure to provide plenty of love ballads during the show, including "Tonight's The Night," "You're In My Heart," and the old Delaney & Bonnie track, "I Don't Want To Talk About It." In the middle of the set he also does a great cover of the Luther Ingram's R&B classic, "If Loving You Is Wrong (I Don't Want To Be Right.)"

He takes it into the homestretch with a few Stewart mainstays, including "Maggie May" and "You Wear It Well." The highlight of the show may very well be a song written by Gavin Sutherland called "Sailing," which was a minor hit in the U.S., but remains one of Britain's largest selling singles. The crowd sing-a-long response is so great on that song that Stewart actually acknowledges the audience, introducing them as: "Manchester, on lead vocals."