Razzy Bailey

Tennessee Performing Arts Center (Nashville, TN)

Jul 4, 1981

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Lovin' Up A Storm 02:50
  2. 2 Anywhere There's A Jukebox 03:23
  3. 3 Midnight Hauler 03:09
  4. 4 Friends 03:42
  5. 5 Blind Faith And Naked Truth 03:06
  6. 6 Old No Homer 03:09
  7. 7 Night Life 02:39
  8. 8 True Life Country Music 03:37
More Razzy Bailey

Razzy Bailey - vocals, guitar
Doug Martin - keyboard
Roy Spordon - rhythm guitar
Mark Ferguson - lead guitar
Dick Manette - drums
Milton Gavender - bass

Razzy Bailey had only been a solo country recording artist for a few years when he did this show, his first of five appearances on the Silver Eagle Cross Country radio series. Included in the set are "Lovin' up a Storm," "Anywhere there's a Jukebox," "Midnight Hauler," and the memorable lament "Blind Faith and Naked Truth." During the show he offers a cover of Willie Nelson's early country classic, "Night Life." He closes the show with "True Life Country Music," which pretty much sums up the story of his life.

Born Erastus Michael, "Razzy" Bailey has spent over 50 years in the music business. He made his first country recordings in 1949, at the tender age of 10, but amounted to little more than a child novelty act. After high school he married and had a family, which forced him to work day jobs and only perform sporadically between 1956 and 1966.

In 1966 he submitted a number of demos to Atlantic Records, and in-house producer Bill Lowery, upon hearing the recording, agreed to take him under his wing. Bailey's recordings for Atlantic (backed by a house band featuring Freddy Weller from Paul Revere and The Raiders and a then-unknown Billy Joel) failed to garner any significant sales, and two other projects - a pop band called Daily Bread, and another solo venture under the name Razzy - also failed.

By 1976 Bailey had resigned himself to leaving the music industry, when one of his songs, "9,999,999 Tears," from the '66 Atlantic sessions, was re-cut by country artist Dickey Lee. Lee took the song to number three, and cut another Bailey original, "Peanut Butter," which hit the top-20. The renewed interest in his songs prompted Bailey to reshape his own career as a performer and recording artist. He was signed to RCA, and released the single "What Time Do You have to be Back in Heaven" in 1978. It was the first of five top-10 country hits that he'd record through 1981.