Agora Ballroom Dallas (Dallas, TX)

Dec 9, 1981

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Intro 00:23
  2. 2 Valerie 04:17
  3. 3 Right Kind Of Love 03:33
  4. 4 Cruisin' With The Deuce 04:48
  5. 5 Jana 04:54
  6. 6 Harden My Heart 04:19
  7. 7 Critical Times 06:36
  8. 8 Try To Make It True 04:14
  9. 9 Party Down 04:25
  10. 10 So Lonely 05:40
  11. 11 Keepin' It Up 03:34
  12. 12 Find Another Fool 04:40
  13. 13 Take Another Picture 06:48
More Quarterflash

Rindy Ross - vocals, saxophone
Marv Ross - guitar
Jack Charles - guitrr, vocals
Rick DiGiallonardo - keyboards
Brian David Willis - drums
Rich Gooch - bass

This is an excellent performance from the underrated Portland-based rock outfit, Quarterflash, captured on January 24th, 1982 at the now defunct Agora Ballroom in Dallas, TX. It is yet another brilliant show in the impressive catalog of the King Biscuit Flower Hour. Throughout the band's 12-song set, they keep the energy up and show off their impressive songwriting chops.

The band runs through all but two of their self-titled major-label debuts, while throwing in a couple never-before-released gems, such as "Jana" and "So Lonely." Lead singer and saxophonist, Rindy Ross, takes center stage with her powerful pipes and dramatic vocal inflections. She is truly the powerhouse driving the group with many of the shows best moments, especially stirring versions of their popular single, "Harden My Heart," (which hit #1 in Billboard's Mainstream Rock Charts) and their menacing ballad, "Find Another Fool."

That said, the boys in the band hold their own. Marv Ross, Rindy's husband, shows off some impressive lead licks, reminiscent of guitar god, Neal Schon (Journey, ex-Santana). Second guitarist, Jack Charles, takes over lead vocals on a few tracks, notably the pumping, "Crusin' With the Deuce," while adding strong backing vocals throughout the concert. Keyboardist, Rick DiGiallonardo, adds a grandiose touch to their soaring melodies, while drummer, Brian David Willis, and bass player, Rich Gooch, form a rock-solid rhythm section.

In a climate where groups like Journey and Def Leppard are enjoying renewed commercial and cultural relevance, it is surprising that a group like Quarterflash did not reach the same lofty commercial heights. Fans of hooky, melodic rock 'n' roll in the vein of the aforementioned duo will delight at the sextet's catchy songwriting and undeniable energy.

Quarterflash was formed in Portland, OR in 1980. They formed from the ashes of two local bands, and released their first single, "Harden My Heart." The group, then called Seafood Mama, was quickly signed by Geffen Records, due to the strength of the single. The band changed their name to Quarterflash, which refers to a popular Australian slang term, which derives from their description of immigrants as, "one quarter flash, and three parts foolish."

Their debut release, Quarterflash, which was produced by John Boylan, was an undisputed hit record, selling over a million copies and reaching #8 on the Billboard Charts. Their second album, Take Another Picture, was released in 1983, and it hit #34 on the charts. Surprisingly, they would only make one more album with their original line-up, 1985's Back Into The Blue. The group disbanded soon after.

However, in the early '90s, the Rosses reformed Quarterflash with all new musicians, and they just released a new record in June of 2008 called, Goodbye Uncle Buzz. They continue to play occasionally, and they remain one of the most underrated groups of the era.