Little Feat

Sting (New Britain, CT)

Jul 13, 1992

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Day At The Dog Races 01:45
  2. 2 Let It Roll 05:47
  3. 3 Rad Gumbo 03:52
  4. 4 Boom Box Car 04:49
  5. 5 Hate To Lose Your Lovin' 04:32
  6. 6 Texas Twister 04:50
  7. 7 Shake Me Up 05:24
  8. 8 Oh, Atlanta 03:55
  9. 9 Dixie Chicken 10:46
  10. 10 Tripe Face Boogie 06:50
More Little Feat

Bill Payne - keyboards, vocals
Paul Barrere - vocals, lead guitar
Ritchie Hayward - drums, vocals
Kenny Gradney - bass, vocals
Sam Clayton - percussion
Craig Fuller - vocals, rhythm guitar
Fred Tackett - lead guitar, vocals, trumpet

Little Feat's third incarnation (the one featuring a post-Lowell George lineup) had been out and touring for over four years when this show was recorded at the intimate Sting club in New Britain, Connecticut in the summer of 1992. Originally recorded as a radio concert for the King Biscuit Flower Hour, the group played this show while promoting Shake Me Up, their second album since regrouping.

Now spearheaded by original member Bill Payne and long time guitarist/singer, Paul Barrere, the Feat were in exceptional form when they cut this show. After opening with "Day At The Dog Races," the next six songs of this 10-song set are compositions from albums released since Let It Roll brought the band back in 1988. Although Little Feat purists might disagree, there is a legion of the band's fans who believe the new material such as "Hate To Lose Your Lovin'," "Shake Me Up," "Rad Gumbo" and "Let It Roll" are easily as strong as the material written by the band's founder and late leader, Lowell George. They end with three songs from the George period: "Oh Atlanta" (always a crowd pleaser), a nearly 11-minute version of "Dixie Chicken" (which gave a certain contemporary country act its name) and "Tripe Face Boogie" (which always went down like a house on fire).

Little Feat was formed in 1969 by Lowell George, a former member of Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention, and Bill Payne, a top session keyboardist. The original lineup also included Roy Estrada, another Zappa/Mothers alumnus, and drummer Richard Hayward, who is part of the lineup here. After a critically acclaimed but commercially ignored debut album, the band changed their lineup to the one featured here (with Lowell in place instead of Craig Fuller). They never had any Top 40 hit singles, but were darlings of progressive FM radio programmers, who made them into a popular cult act.