Summit Arena (Houston, TX)

Nov 6, 1981

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Introduction 01:04
  2. 2 Escape 05:26
  3. 3 Line Of Fire 03:37
  4. 4 Lights 03:34
  5. 5 Stay Awhile 02:34
  6. 6 Open Arms 03:45
  7. 7 Mother, Father 05:39
  8. 8 Keyboard Solo 01:51
  9. 9 Who's Crying Now 05:42
  10. 10 Where Were You 04:18
  11. 11 Drum Solo 03:50
  12. 12 Dead Or Alive 03:54
  13. 13 Don't Stop Believin' 04:19
  14. 14 Stone In Love 05:11
  15. 15 Keep On Runnin' 05:58
  16. 16 Wheel In The Sky 06:03
  17. 17 Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin' 04:46
  18. 18 Any Way You Want It 04:03
More Journey

Steven Perry - vocals
Neil Schon - guitar, vocals
Ross Vallory - bass
Steve Smith - drums
Jonathon Cain - keyboards

This show was performed as part of a worldwide cable TV broadcast on MTV, and was simulcast on FM radio by way of the King Biscuit Flower Hour. Journey was at the top of their game at the time, touring to promote their seventh studio release, Escape, the album that broke the band through to a large pop audience with such hits as "Open Arms," "Who's Crying Now" and "Don't Stop Believing."

Journey formed in 1973 after Neil Schon left Santana to pursue more straight-ahead rock music. The band's original drummer was Prarie Prince, who left to join The Tubes before recording had begun. He was replaced first by Aynsley Dunbar, and later, Steve Smith, who performed at this show. Bassist Ross Vallory and keyboardist Gregg Rolie (who played and sang for Santana prior to Journey), rounded out the rest of the lineup. The group signed with Columbia records and had a number of radio hits by the time vocalist Steven Perry joined after the third album. A later member in the band was American Idol judge, Randy Jackson, who played bass. By the time of this show, Jonathon Cain had replaced Gregg Rolie on keyboards.

Playing in front of a massive arena audience, the band was certainly fired up as they ran through such classics as "Lights," "Any Way You Want It" and "Wheel In The Sky." After Perry had a double platinum solo album, they came back to record one more studio album, Raised on Radio, in 1986. The following year, Journey went on hiatus. They re-united to record and release Trial By Fire in 1996, but problems with Perry's health prevented a subsequent tour. Shortly thereafter, Steve Augeri took over lead vocal duties and Journey hit the road once more.