Hank Williams Jr.

Von Braun Center (Huntsville, AL)

Jan 1, 1986

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Opening 01:54
  2. 2 All My Rowdy Friends (Are Coming Over Tonight) 03:15
  3. 3 My Name Is Bocephus 05:23
  4. 4 Dixie On My Mind 02:47
  5. 5 Call Me The Breeze 03:14
  6. 6 Medley 01:30
  7. 7 Leave Them Boys Alone 03:32
  8. 8 Medley: I Really Like Girls / Rock And Roll Music 04:22
  9. 9 If You Don't Like Hank Williams 03:33
  10. 10 Band Chatter 05:55
  11. 11 Down In New Orleans 02:42
  12. 12 Gonna Go Huntin' Tonight 03:02
  13. 13 Whiskey Bent And Hell Bound 05:50
  14. 14 Solo Blues Medley 04:05
  15. 15 I'm For Love 02:18
  16. 16 Medley: Old Habits / The Conversation / If Heaven Ain't A Lo… 07:52
  17. 17 My Girl Don't Like My Cowboy Hat 01:53
  18. 18 Why Do The Best Looking Girls Have Real Ugly Friends 02:07
  19. 19 Ain't Misbehavin' 05:25
  20. 20 Country Boy Can Survive 04:34
  21. 21 Lawyers, Guns And Money 04:05
  22. 22 The Hunt 05:41
  23. 23 All My Rowdy Friends (Have Settled Down) 03:29
  24. 24 Medley: Family Tradition / Hey Good Looking / Kaw-Liga / Outro 14:14
More Hank Williams Jr.

Hank Williams, Jr. - lead vocals, guitar
Ray Barrickman - bass
Vernon Derrick - fiddle, violin
Billy Earheart - piano, keyboards
Merle Kilgore - pedal steel, vocals
Eddie Long - pedal steel
Bill Marshall - drums
Jerry McKinney - saxophone
Lamar Morris - guitar
Wayne Turner - guitar

Born in Shreveport, Louisiana in 1949, Hank Williams Jr. always had to live up to the enormous musical legacy of his late, great father, Hank Williams Sr. Although Hank Jr. was only six years old when his hard-drinking, road-warrioring father drank himself to death on New Years Eve 1953, he was around him long enough, during those early, formative years, to absorb and internalize the musical talent to carry on what his father had started, once he came of age.

Hank Sr.'s widow, Audrey, noticed her son's musical prowess, and started him on the country music circuit performing his father's songs as early as age 11. By the time he was 17 (in 1964), he had a record deal with MGM (Hank Sr.'s label), doing an entire album of his father's classic hits. He also provided the music for the his father's biopic, Your Cheatin' Heart. Hank Jr. kept up the tribute act for a few more years, before emerging with his own music on the record Standing in the Shadows. Although he managed to make a living as a musician for the next seven or eight years, Hank Jr. had to moonlight as a rock 'n' roller with a band called Rockin' Randall and the Rockets in order to stay afloat financially.

By the mid-1970s, he had developed a number of friendships with members the Southern rock scene - such as Lynyrd Skynyrd, the Allman Brothers, the Charlie Daniels Band and The Marshall Tucker Band - who had already been fusing country music and rock 'n' roll. He recorded Hank Williams Jr. & Friends with many of the members from those groups and made his own successful country/rock fusion record. Then in 1975, he nearly died when he fell 442 feet down the side of the rocky mountain he was trying to climb during a vacation in Montana. After two years of rehabilitation and constructive facial surgery, he returned to the music scene.

He released The New South in 1977, and aligned himself with the "outlaw" country music scene spearheaded by Waylon Jennings, Merle Haggard, Johnny Cash and Willie Nelson. The album was a huge smash, and jumpstarted Hank Jr. on a streak of over 30 Top 10 country hits that included "All My Rowdy Friends Are Coming Over Tonight," "My Name Is Bocephus," "Dixie On My Mind," "Whiskey Bent And Hell Bound" and a sassy re-make of the Fats Waller 1935 classic "Ain't Misbehavin'" All of these classics and many others are featured on this recording, originally done for the Silver Eagle Cross Country Radio Series in 1986.