Grateful Dead

Fillmore West (San Francisco, CA)

Jun 5, 1969 - Set 1

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  • download Download ($5.00)
  1. 1 Morning Dew 09:37
  2. 2 Me and My Uncle 03:38
  3. 3 Doin' That Rag 07:14
  4. 4 He Was A Friend Of Mine 11:16
  5. 5 Hard To Handle 05:54
  6. 6 Cosmic Charlie 06:56
  7. 7 Cryptical Envelopment 02:18
  8. 8 Drums 01:31
  9. 9 The Other One 08:36
  10. 10 Cryptical Envelopment (Reprise) 12:11
More Grateful Dead

"Pigpen" McKernan - vocals, harmonica
Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
Tom Constanten - keyboards
Bill Kreutzmann - drums
Mickey Hart - drums

This is the first set of the first night of a particularly interesting four-night run at the Fillmore West. Although no special guests are featured like the other three nights, this performance is an excellent example of the band toward the end of the classic Live/Dead album era.

After warming up with the opening "Morning Dew" and the following "Me & My Uncle," the band performs an unusual pairing of "Doin' That Rag," transitioning into "He Was a Friend of Mine." A rousing version of "Hard To Handle" gives Pigpen his one and only chance to lead the group night, before they head back into psychedelia with a "Cosmic Charlie" that, uncharacteristically, is performed alone as opposed to ending a jam sequence. The set closes with the Anthem of the Sun LP's opening suite, "That's it for the Other One." The "Cryptical" reprise, in particular, features some beautiful interplay between Garcia and Lesh before dissolving into feedback to close the first set.