Shrine Auditorium (Los Angeles, CA)

Jan 24, 1975

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Introduction 00:34
  2. 2 The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway 05:13
  3. 3 Fly On A Windshield 04:39
  4. 4 Broadway Melody Of 1974 00:33
  5. 5 Cuckoo Cocoon 02:15
  6. 6 In The Cage 07:59
  7. 7 The Grand Parade Of Lifeless Packaging 03:14
  8. 8 Introduction to Back In N.Y.C. 01:15
  9. 9 Back In N.Y.C. 06:12
  10. 10 Hairless Heart 02:30
  11. 11 Counting Out Time 03:59
  12. 12 The Carpet Crawlers 05:45
  13. 13 The Chamber Of 32 Doors 06:02
  14. 14 Lilywhite Lilith 03:48
  15. 15 The Waiting Room 06:14
  16. 16 Anyway 03:49
  17. 17 The Supernatural Anaesthetist 03:30
  18. 18 The Lamia 08:30
  19. 19 Silent Sorrow in Empty Boats 03:22
  20. 20 The Colony of Slippermen: The Arrival / A Visit to the Dokto… 08:48
  21. 21 Ravine 01:38
  22. 22 The Light Dies Down On Broadway 03:38
  23. 23 Riding the Scree 04:33
  24. 24 In The Rapids 02:23
  25. 25 It 05:36
  26. 26 Watcher Of The Skies 08:15
  27. 27 The Musical Box 12:12
More Genesis

Peter Gabriel - lead vocals
Phil Collins - drums, vocals
Tony Banks - keyboards
Steve Hackett - guitar
Mike Rutherford - bass, guitar, vocals

This show has been counted among the "Holy Grail" items for Genesis fans, as it's rumored to be one of the only professional recordings made on the band's final tour with Peter Gabriel. Recorded on the band's celebrated 1975 Lamb Lies Down on Broadway tour, this show features the entire Lamb rock opera, plus an encore of the band's classic 1971 opus, "The Musical Box."

This show, recorded for the King Biscuit Flower Hour, was taken from a tour that was particularly interesting for the fact that Peter Gabriel had informed the band he was leaving to pursue a solo career before either the album had been released or the tour had commenced. In order to maximize the momentum of the band at that time, it was agreed that Gabriel's impending departure would be kept a well guarded secret. Therefore, he had to spend a year with the band knowing he was leaving as soon as the tour was over. Despite the fact - or perhaps as a result of it - Gabriel and the band deliver a spectacular performance here at Los Angeles' Shrine Auditorium, highlighted by Peter's legendary visual theatrics. Included here is a blistering version of "Back In New York City," as well as the album's hit single, "The Carpet Crawlers."

Credit must also be given to keyboardist Tony Banks, who was the real musical heart and soul of early Genesis and their classic progressive rock music. Phil Collins, who would step up front soon after and take Genesis to much greater commercial success as the new lead singer, was waiting in the wings for his turn as front man. For this show, he was simply the drummer in the band.