Dallas Reunion Hall (Dallas, TX)

Oct 3, 1981

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Long, Long Way From Home 03:27
  2. 2 Dirty White Boy 04:05
  3. 3 Blue Morning, Blue Day 03:37
  4. 4 Luanne 03:55
  5. 5 Cold As Ice 05:16
  6. 6 Waiting For A Girl Like You 05:13
  7. 7 Head Games 04:25
  8. 8 Urgent 05:45
  9. 9 Double Vision 04:35
  10. 10 Juke Box Hero 05:31
More Foreigner

Lou Gramm - vocals
Mick Jones - guitar, vocals
Dennis Elliott - drums
Rick Wills - bass
Mark Rivera - keyboards, sax, flute
Bob Mayo - keyboards, vocals

After two massively successful rock albums, Foreigner and Double Vision, in 1976 and 1978, respectively, the band took a slight misstep with 1979's Head Games. Sure, they were still having hits and the fans embraced it almost as much as the earlier two records, but it was the first Foreigner album to get almost universally slammed by the critics. Radio played it because, frankly, they had to, but the spark was gone, and Mick Jones, (the songwriter/ guitarist/ producer who formed the band in 1975) knew it.

So, in what many considered an overreaction, Jones essentially broke up the platinum-level band and decided to re-group it in a meaner and leaner configuration.

The result was a revamped four-piece lineup (down from the original lineup that featured six in the band), and a strong, new album simply entitled: 4. The new Foreigner contained only Jones, Gramm and drummer Dennis Elliott from the initial lineup, with ex-Small Faces/Peter Frampton bassist, Rick Wills. The album, produced by superstar studio whiz John Mutt Lange, would eventually become the creative peak of Foreigner, and would be the album that established the band as one of the best rock acts of all time.

This show, recorded on the band's celebrated "4" tour (ironically, for the live show they returned to a six piece lineup, although only the four core musicians were actually members of the band). Originally cut for the King Biscuit Flower Hour, it features a set that is essentially a greatest hits collection. Even the new material went down like a storm with this incredibly enthusiastic Dallas audience.

Opening with a pair of rockers, "Long Long Way From Home" and "Dirty White Boy," they eventually slide into the haunting rocker, "Blue Morning Blue Day." Next, they offer a lively version of the '50s-styled rocker, "Luanne." The rest of the set is full of pure platinum hits, starting with the infectious, "Cold As Ice," and the poignant, "Waiting For A Girl Like You." "Head Games," "Double Vision," and powerful closer of "Juke Box Hero," round out this unforgettable Foreigner performance.