Elton John

Poplar Creek (Hoffman Estates, IL)

Sep 16, 1988

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Sixty Years On 06:07
  2. 2 I Need You To Turn To 03:08
  3. 3 The King Must Die 05:38
  4. 4 Burn Down The Mission 06:20
  5. 5 Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word 04:16
  6. 6 Have Mercy On The Criminal 05:53
  7. 7 Tiny Dancer 06:44
  8. 8 The Ballad Of Danny Bailey (1909-1934) 04:43
  9. 9 I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues 04:58
  10. 10 Philadelphia Freedom 05:52
  11. 11 The Bitch Is Back 04:04
  12. 12 Nikita 06:25
  13. 13 Sad Songs 10:29
  14. 14 Goodbye Marlon Brando 03:39
  15. 15 A Word In Spanish 05:18
  16. 16 Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters 07:57
  17. 17 Daniel 04:36
  18. 18 I Don't Wanna Go On With You Like That 07:11
  19. 19 Candle In The Wind 04:44
  20. 20 Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting 07:01
  21. 21 Your Song 04:28
  22. 22 I'm Still Standing 04:58
More Elton John

Elton John - piano, keyboards, vocals
Davey Johnstone - guitar, keyboards
Guy Babylon - keyboards
Fred Mandel - synth, keyboards, guitar
Jonathon Moffat - drums
Romeo Williams - bass
Natalie Jackson - background vocals
Alex Brown - background vocals
Marlena Chateau - background vocals

Elton John has remained one of the longest running hit-makers in contemporary music, composing and performing for almost four decades. This concert, recorded originally for the King Biscuit Flower Hour, is essentially a greatest hits show that serves as a testament to the incredibly wide spectrum of music Elton has delivered over the years.

Opening with the compelling "60 Years On," from his debut major label album, Elton John, he then moves right into more songs from the early part of his career: "I Need You To Turn To" and "Burn Down The Mission." From there he traipses all over the songbook landscape, playing tracks from 1969 all the way through to his new releases at that time. Newer tracks like "Marlon Brando," sound as good as the classics, "Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word," "Tiny Dancer" and "The Bitch Is Back." Elton always excels on the more dramatic titles, which is why "Have Mercy On The Criminal," and the brilliant, "Ballad Of Danny Bailey," are among the highlights of the show. "I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues," "Philadelphia Freedom," "Nikita" and "Sad Song" fill in the gaps between the new tracks and the mega-hits from his past. Overall, this collection of songs makes for an incredible evening of music.

Chicago was always a strong market for Elton John, going back to his earliest US shows, and he demolishes the audiences with a four-part closer/encore that begins with "Candle In The Wind," then jumps to the always rockin' "Saturday Night's Alright (For Fighting)" before launching into the poignant ""Your Song"" and concluding with "I'm Still Standing." The number of artists that can mesmerize an audience with a two-hour- plus show of incredible Top 10 hits and compelling album tracks can be counted on one hand for most people. This recording proves why Elton John is one of those artists.