Duran Duran

Madison Square Garden (New York, NY)

Mar 19, 1984

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Is There Something I Should Know? 04:45
  2. 2 Hungry Like The Wolf 04:18
  3. 3 The Reflex 06:10
  4. 4 New Moon On Monday 04:49
  5. 5 The Union Of The Snake 04:27
  6. 6 New Religion 05:43
  7. 7 Cracks In The Pavement 04:57
  8. 8 Of Crime And Passion 03:26
  9. 9 Friends Of Mine 06:16
  10. 10 The Seventh Stranger 05:51
  11. 11 The Chauffeur 05:49
  12. 12 Save A Prayer 06:43
  13. 13 Planet Earth 05:04
  14. 14 My Own Way 04:06
  15. 15 Careless Memories 06:19
  16. 16 Rio 09:27
  17. 17 Girls On Film 15:10
More Duran Duran

Simon LeBon - vocals
Andy Taylor - guitar
John Taylor - bass
Nick Rhodes - keyboards
Roger Taylor - drums
Andy Hamilton - saxophone, keyboards
Rafael DeJesus - percussion
Darlene Dotes - backing vocals
BJ Nelson - backing vocals

For Duran Duran, this was the first show in a multiple run of sold out shows at Madison Square Garden in March of 1984. They were world-class pop superstars by the time they did this run of NYC shows, which remains the highlight of their concert popularity in America. For these shows, and the tour they were part of, Duran Duran was promoting their 1983 release, Seven and the Ragged Tiger, which was produced by Chic guitarist Nile Rodgers.

Rodgers was careful not to fix something that wasn't broken. Two singles emerged from this record, "The Reflex" and "Union of The Snake," but he didn't do too much to change what they had become. Those two songs and five of the album's nine tracks are performed during this show. The rest of this set features mostly the band's early hits, such as "Hungry Like The Wolf" and "Girls On Film."

Over two decades since Duran Duran reached their popularity peak, the music still endures. While becoming staples on stations that play primarily music from the 1980s, they continued to have hit albums through the late 1990s.

The original line-up reunited in 2003, and recorded a new album, DVD and did extensive touring through 2005. In early 2006, Andy Taylor left the group again to resume his solo career. The other four original members have decided to continue without him.