Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young

Fillmore East (New York, NY)

Jun 5, 1970 - Set 2

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Pre-Road Downs 03:16
  2. 2 Long Time Gone 07:03
  3. 3 Helplessly Hoping 03:56
  4. 4 Ohio 05:17
  5. 5 As I Come Of Age 04:48
  6. 6 Southern Man 11:20
  7. 7 Carry On 17:14
  8. 8 Woodstock 08:45
  9. 9 Find The Cost Of Freedom 02:34
More Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young

David Crosby - guitar, vocals
Stephen Stills - guitar, upright bass, piano, organ, vocals
Graham Nash - guitar, piano, organ, vocals
Neil Young - guitar, organ, vocals
Calvin Samuels - bass
Johnny Barbata - drums

This is the fourth night of CSNY's legendary six-night run at the Fillmore East. The Four Way Street live album contains recordings from this run. This entire run of shows capture CSNY hot on the heels of success from the recently released Deja Vu LP and was during the group's most prolific phase, as all four were working on solo albums that would soon define them as individual artists.

The second half of this show contains the entire electric set. Joined on stage by bassist Calvin Samuels and drummer Johnny Barbata, this captures the group at the pinnacle of its powers. The politically volatile times are well reflected in "Long Time Gone," "Southern Man" and especially "Ohio," which had just been written following the recent shootings at Kent State.

"Southern Man" and "Carry On" give the group the opportunity to stretch out and jam. Stills and Young demonstrate what a great blend their dual guitar attack really is, and Neil in particular is in his element. Crosby's rhythm guitar playing is also unique and drives the two lead guitarists to some surprising places.

Joni Mitchell's "Woodstock" closes the set, followed by an acoustic "Find the Cost of Freedom" to end the night on a thought-provoking, contemplative note.