Chris Hillman

Bottom Line (New York, NY)

Nov 5, 1977 - Early

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Hot Burrito #2 03:12
  2. 2 Slippin' Away 03:15
  3. 3 Take It On The Run 03:24
  4. 4 Rise And Fall 03:17
  5. 5 Love Is The Sweetest Amnesty 03:49
  6. 6 Nothing Gets Through 04:40
  7. 7 Rollin' And Tumblin' 05:15
  8. 8 Fallen Eagle 02:18
  9. 9 Sin City 03:17
  10. 10 (Take Me In Your) Lifeboat 03:04
  11. 11 Playing The Fool 03:55
  12. 12 Heartbreaker 05:23
  13. 13 Witching Hour / Band Intros 04:42
  14. 14 It Doesn't Matter / Bound To Lose / Cuban Bluegrass 06:56
  15. 15 Mystery Train 03:28
More Chris Hillman

Chris Hillman - lead vocals, bass
John Brennen - lead guitar
Tommy Buckman - bass
Mike Huey - drums
Kim O'Kelly - background
Skip Edwards - keyboards, pedal steel

From the opening chords of The Flying Burrito Brothers classic, "Hot Burrito #2," through his encore of the Elvis Presley rockabilly classic, "Mystery Train," it is clear this concert recorded by the Chris Hillman Band was going to be special. The last of three concerts captured by the King Biscuit audio engineers for a sole Hillman concert broadcast in 1977, the show features material from every aspect of Hillman's career up to that point, except his tenure with The Byrds.

It was Hillman who almost single-handedly developed the genre we now call country-rock, and this show is an example of how important his influence has been. There is much material from his two solo albums on Asylum Records, and songs from his time in Souther-Hillman-Furray, the super-group he was part of from 1974 through 1976, with Richie Furray from Poco and songwriter/singer JD Souther.

There are no gimmicks or over-dramatic moments here because, frankly, Hillman could care less about those elements. What is here, however, is an exceptional commitment by one artist to make great music. Among the highlights are "Take It On The Run," "Rise and Fall," "Rollin And Tumblin'," "Sin City," "Heartbreaker" and "It Doesn't Matter/Bound To Lose."