Bryan Ferry

Bottom Line (New York, NY)

Jun 23, 1977 - Early

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Let's Stick Together 03:41
  2. 2 Shame, Shame, Shame 03:25
  3. 3 Roadrunner 03:04
  4. 4 All Night Operator 03:08
  5. 5 You Go To My Head 03:03
  6. 6 Could It Happen To Me? 03:36
  7. 7 In Your Mind 04:36
  8. 8 Casanova 03:07
  9. 9 Love Me Madly Again 08:45
  10. 10 Love Is The Drug 03:50
  11. 11 Tokyo Joe 03:35
  12. 12 This Is Tomorrow 03:03
  13. 13 The "In" Crowd 05:18
  14. 14 A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall 06:36
  15. 15 Price Of Love 05:12
More Bryan Ferry

Bryan Ferry - lead vocals, keyboards
Chris Spedding - guitar
Phil Manzanera - guitar
Mel Collins - saxophone
Chris Mercer - trumpet
Martin Drover - saxophone
Ann Odell - keyboards
John Wetton - bass
Paul Thompson - drums
Jacqui Sullivan - vocals
Doreen Chanter - vocals
Helen Chappelle - vocals

Bryan Ferry, the charismatic lead vocalist of the U.K. glam-rock group Roxy Music, first recorded a solo album of mostly cover material as a fluke in 1973, while waiting for the next Roxy album and tour to get going. The album, These Foolish Things, which included his quirky remakes of Wilbert Harrison's R&B classic "Let's Stick Together" and Bob Dylan's anti-war opus, "A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall," got critical raves, thus giving Ferry the impetus to launch a full blown solo career the following year.

By the time Ferry reached the U.S. shores on his first North American solo tour it was 1977, and he had already seen considerable success with Roxy Music in England. Playing it safe, Ferry decided to include three members of Roxy in his massive, 11-piece solo ensemble, which included Phil Manzanera on guitar, temporary Roxy fill-in John Wetton on bass and drummer Paul Thompson. In addition, he opted to include some choice Roxy material in his solo show, even though he employed different arrangements.

The result was an enjoyable mix of the familiar and the unexpected. He sticks mostly with his odd cover arrangements of well known hit songs (his version of "Roadrunner" is particularly impressive) as well as a healthy dose of new Ferry originals that were part of his fourth solo album, In Your Mind. While the material doesn't always do it, the live performances by this stellar lineup of musicians certainly does. Second guitarist Chris Spedding (from the influential U.K. band, the Sharks) works well with Manzanera, who was an obvious influence on U2's the Edge.

Credit must also go to the amazing horn section, spearheaded by former King Crimson saxophonist, Mel Collins. Although not quite as compelling as the horn sections of Chicago or Tower of Power, Collins does manage to lead the other players into some impressive chops throughout this entire show.