Agora Ballroom Dallas (Dallas, TX)

Aug 21, 1982

  • play
  • add
  • favorite
  1. 1 Holdin' On 06:48
  2. 2 Steal Another Fantasy / Jennifer 07:52
  3. 3 Introduction to Silent Soldiers 01:01
  4. 4 Silent Soldiers 07:41
  5. 5 Rock 'N' Roll Party In The Streets 06:01
More Axe

Bobby Barth - guitar, lead vocals
Edgar Riley - keyboards, vocals
Mike Osbourne - guitar
Mike Turpin - bass
Teddy Mueller - drums

Axe was typical of many of the hair metal bands that emerged in the early and mid-1980s. Inspired by the seemingly overnight success of MTV, Axe fit the bill for loud, hard rock bands with spandex and high hair, and songs about groupies and cars. They had all of this, and then some, but they never scored a huge radio hit, despite several attempts to get there by the band itself and their record company. Emerging from a Florida band called Babyface, Axe came together quickly when guitarist/vocalist Bobby Barth grabbed a few other members of that band to form Axe in 1978.

This show, recorded for the King Biscuit Flower Hour, includes four Axe standard rockers: "Holdin' On," "Steal Another Fantasy," "Silent Soldiers," and the obligatory rock anthem, "Rock "N' Roll Party in The Streets."

The group never broke through to a large mainstream audience but they did attain a solid base of heavy metal fans. The band had just released their fourth, chart-reaching album Nemesis, when in 1984, guitarist and anchor member Mike Osbourne was killed in a tragic car accident. The blow was too much for the band, which tried to carry on, but broke up shortly thereafter.